Cowboys Named Way-Too-Early Favorite To Win NFC

Though we are only hours removed from the ending for Super Bowl 51, us Cowboys fans are already looking ahead to next season, hoping Dallas can make a run to Super Bowl 52.

It would seem that after a 13-3 season in which the Cowboys won the NFC East and held the top seed in the conference, they should be expected to challenge for the top spot once again next year.

The odds-makers in Vegas agree.

RJ Bell on Twitter

2018 Super Bowl Odds [1/2] NE 7/1 Dal, GB, Atl 12/1 Sea 15/1 Den 17/1 Pit, Oak 18/1 KC, NYG 20/1 Ind, Car 30/1 Arz, Min 35/1 TB, Hou 40/1

Besides the reigning champion New England Patriots, the Dallas Cowboys have the best odds to win next year’s Super Bowl, at 12/1. The Cowboys are tied with this year’s NFC champs, the Atlanta Falcons, and the team which eliminated them in the divisional round, the Green Bay Packers.

While I think it could be fair to expect the Packers to drop off a bit next season, it appears the Falcons are going to be around for a long time. It is very possible that the Cowboys and Falcons will develop a rivalry over the next few years in which they see each other in the playoffs a ton. It is also expected that they will play early next season to open up the Falcons’ new stadium.

What really struck me about these odds, however, was just how many NFC teams are represented in the top 5. Outside of New England, the NFC seems to be the dominant conference, and watching both the 2016 regular and post seasons, I would tend to agree.

We still have a long way to go before the 2017 season kicks off, but at this very early stage, everyone is expecting the Cowboys to reign next year.

What do you think?

Kevin Brady

Written by Kevin Brady

Die-hard Cowboys fan from the Northeast, so you know I am here to defend the 'boys whenever necessary. Began writing for a WordPress Cowboys Blog, and have been with ITS since 2016.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Jason Garrett

Jason Garrett Named 2016 Coach of the Year

Travis Frederick, Ronald Leary, Tyron Smith, Offensive Line

Cowboys Offensive Line Wins Award, But Facing Changes