Dak Prescott Named 2016 Offensive Rookie of the Year

In what many might consider an upset, Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott has been named the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year. His teammate, running back Ezekiel Elliott, was the projected front-runner for the award.

Dallas Cowboys Player Profile: QB #4 Dak Prescott 1
QB Dak Prescott

While Elliott has one of the greatest seasons ever by a rookie running back, nobody had a better story than Dak Prescott. A fourth-round pick who might have been third on the Cowboys’ depth chart if not for injuries, Prescott was unexpectedly thrust onto the biggest stage in the NFL when Tony Romo went out during the preseason.

Dak Prescott led the Cowboys to a 13-3 record, a division title, and the first seed in the NFC playoffs. His efficiency numbers dwarfed past rookies and were up there with the best quarterbacks in the game today. It’s not hard to see why the voters went his way.

NFL Research on Twitter

Dak Prescott is the first QB in NFL history to win Offensive Rookie of the Year after being drafted outside of the Top 2 rounds

The night is hardly over for Ezekiel Elliott, though. He is still a leading candidate for the Offensive Player of the Year award.

What do you think?

Jess Haynie

Written by Jess Haynie

Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Dak Prescott, Eagles

Putting the “Fan” in Fantasy Football: Outcomes of Putting Team First in Fantasy Drafts

Draft Blog - Dallas Cowboys: Checking Out Matt Miller's Mock Draft

Jerry Jones Named to 2017 Hall of Fame Class