Jason Witten Ascends Career Receptions List; Passes Former Cowboy

    has been the ' all-time receptions leader since 2012, when he topped . Yesterday against the , he passed another former Cowboy on the league's career list.

    Jason Witten, RedskinsWith 10 catches last night, Witten passed for the 7th spot. As you will see from the following list, Witten may not be done working his way up the list.

    1. Jerry Rice – 1,549
    2. Tony Gonzalez – 1,325
    3. – 1,116
    4. Marvin Harrison – 1,102
    5. Cris Carter – 1,101
    6. Tim Brown – 1,094
    7. Jason Witten – 1,086
    8. Terrell Owens – 1,078

    Witten will pass Tim Brown with just nine more catches, a very likely number with two games to go. He needs 16 to pass Cris Carter and 17 to pass Marvin Harrison. Those might be tougher to hit, but Witten has had 17 catches in his last two games.

    The #4 spot may be the best Witten can hope for. Unlike these other receivers, Larry Fitzgerald is still playing and is producing big numbers. He has 98 catches in 2016, leading the league, and there is no word of at this time. He has one year left on his contract with the .

    There are few active players not far off from Witten. Anquan Boldin has 1,067 catches and is still contributing for the . Baltimore's is at 1,021 catches and has not indicated if this is his last season.

    Tony Romo, Jason Witten
    AP Photo / Sharon Ellman

    Jason Witten's own retirement is not out of the question. There is some speculation about his future, especially with 's era seemingly over in Dallas. Witten has commented about the energy and fun that comes from playing with the Cowboys' new young stars. His desire to return could depend on what the team does in the postseason.

    No matter where he finally lands on the all-time receptions list, Witten's legacy is impossible to deny. Every receiver ahead of him on the list is in the . The other tight end, Tony Gonzalez, is likely to be a first-ballot inductee.

    Between his statistics and his incredible reputation as a player, the only question about Jason Witten's Hall of Fame status should be when he gets in.

    Jess Haynie
    Jess Haynie
    Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!


    Are the 2022 Cowboys better than the 2021 Cowboys?

    This topic should be interesting. I know that the...

    Do the Cowboys really need Odell Beckham Jr?

    Free agent WR Odell Beckham Jr. is set to...

    How the NFC East went from Least to Beast

    The NFC East has been considered the worst division...

    Cowboys penalty problem might cut their season short again

    The Dallas Cowboys have put themselves in a spot...


    Daily Cowboys News in Your Inbox
    Your email address:*
    Please enter all required fields Click to hide
    Correct invalid entries Click to hide

    Trending Now

    The Star: Getting Inside the Dallas Cowboys New Home

    The Dallas Cowboys star logo is one of the...

    Cowboys Reveal New Uniforms for Week 17 vs Titans

    Another uniform emerges for the Dallas Cowboys to wear...

    Cowboys Nostalgia: Before Jerry Jones

    25 years ago Jerry Jones bought the Dallas Cowboys...

    Fantasy Outlook: It’s Hard to Trust any Cowboys Player Next Season

    I am already looking forward to my fantasy football...

    Why are the Dallas Cowboys Considered “America’s Team?”

    The Dallas Cowboys are one National Football League team...

    Diggs Island – Trevon Diggs is entering elite status

    It’s hard to find a cornerback that is under...

    Will Jalen Tolbert suit up again this season?

    The third-round pick out of South Alabama has been...

    Like it or not, it’s time to give the front office credit

    All of a sudden the Cowboys have won three...

    Famous Dallas Cowboys Players Who Love To Gamble In Casinos

    The Dallas Cowboys are one of the most famous professional sports teams in America. They're also one of the best, having won five Super...

    NFL Countdown: Getcha Your Popcorn, It’s T.O Time

    We're officially 81 Days until the Week 1 kickoff, and in today's post--expect a player who had ALOT on-the-field antics, but when it came down to...

    Best #82 Ever: It’s Jason Witten’s World, We’re Just Living in It

    Since starting this countdown series, I have come across players in Dallas Cowboys History that I have never heard of, and to me, it...