Jerry Jones Named to 2017 Hall of Fame Class

Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2017. He joins players Terrell Davis, LaDainian Tomlinson, Jason Taylor, Kurt Warner, and Morten Anderson.

Cowboys Headlines - Jerry Jones Named NFL's Most Important Person By USA Today
Jerry Jones

Jones, like many other non-players, will be inducted as a “contributor.” His three Super Bowl championships are a big part of the resume, but Jerry’s credentials go well beyond the accomplishments of the Cowboys.

Through the Cowboys, Jerry helped change the financial landscape of the NFL in the 1990s. The team’s popularity helped to drive marketing and other business opportunities that the entire league benefited from. Everyone associated with the NFL is richer today because of Jerry Jones.

Of course, the Cowboys were already a national institution and “America’s Team” before Jerry bought them. Jones built on that reputation with the team’s success in the 90s and launched both the Cowboys and the NFL into a new era of prominence and national appeal.

As one great man said earlier today:

Jess Haynie on Twitter

The fact that there’s even a #nflhonors show on FOX tonight is because of the way Jerry Jones has helped build the NFL brand. #HOF2017

The question now is who Jerry Jones will select to give his introductory speech. My first guess would be his son Stephen, the Cowboys’ current Executive Vice President. However, I also could see Jerry calling any one of the Triplets to be part of his special day.

Congratulations, Mr. Jones!

What do you think?


Written by Jess Haynie

Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott Named 2016 Offensive Rookie of the Year

Jason Garrett

Jason Garrett Named 2016 Coach of the Year