Recent NFC East History Helps Cowboys

    Historical patterns don't always hold water. We just watched the Golden State Warriors become only the 10th team in to come back from a 3-1 series deficit. rise above the circumstances.

    Right now nobody in the East looks all that special. Maybe we'll change tune in retrospect, but it appears that all four teams have a chance to be competitive. That's been the nature of our division for a while now, and it has led to an interesting pattern.

    The won four straight Championships from 2001-2004. That was the last time a team in our division won even two consecutive titles. The last 11 seasons have produced a different division winner every year.

    • Cowboys Blog - Five Reasons Why the Cowboys Will Repeat as NFC East Champions 62015 – Washington (9-7)
    • 2014- (12-4)
    • 2013 – Philadelphia Eagles (10-6)
    • 2012 – Washington (10-6)
    • 2011 – (9-7)
    • 2010 – Philadelphia Eagles (10-6)
    • 2009 – Dallas Cowboys (11-5)
    • 2008 – New York Giants (12-4)
    • 2007 – Dallas Cowboys (13-3)
    • 2006 – Philadelphia Eagles (10-6)
    • 2005 – New York Giants (11-5)

    Washington has stability, bringing back coach , , and most of the same pieces. However, they were also a 9-7 division champion who benefited from 's , a down year in New York, and the culmination of 's work in Philly.

    The Cowboys and Giants are poised to get back into contention. Dallas gets Romo back and has improved an already-great with rookie . The Giants needed a fresh voice and moved on , though they have kept their schemes intact and were very active in . New York has a tendency to bounce back well form their bad seasons.

    The Eagles are a . We can't be sure who their starting quarterback is, especially with 's recent behavior and now talk that rookie is doing better at picking up their new . Still, they were a 7-9 team last year and only two games off from the champion.

    So, natural question at this point; why does the NFC East have such a topsy-turvy history over the last decade?

    Cowboys Headlines - Recent NFC East History Helps CowboysFor Philadelphia and Washington it's been been consistent with change at quarterback and coach. The Eagles have gone from 's twilight years to a few seasons of , then , then Bradford, and now maybe Wentz. They had a major organizational overhaul when Chip Kelly replaced , and now are in line for another as they integrate .

    Washington's had even more tumult with four different head coaches and six different starting QBs since 2005. That's a pretty good reason for why they've had the fewest division titles of the four teams during that time span.

    2016 promises to be another unpredictable year. Just on the Cowboys alone I've seen projections that put them anywhere from a 6-10 team to one of the top teams in the entire NFC. New York's up-and-down history makes them very hard to gauge. Philly and Washington are both in positions to be either competitive or sink back to the basement.

    If history holds and there is no repeat champion, Dallas' basic  of winning improve from 25% to 33%. After the misery of last season, I'll take whatever I can get!

    Jess Haynie
    Jess Haynie
    Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!


    Micah Parsons and Zack Martin lead Pro Bowl voting for Cowboys

    The Pro Bowl has become an afterthought recently, but...

    Week 13 Preview: Indianapolis Colts at Dallas Cowboys

    The Dallas Cowboys are home again this week as...

    Are the 2022 Cowboys better than the 2021 Cowboys?

    This topic should be interesting. I know that the...

    Do the Cowboys really need Odell Beckham Jr?

    Free agent WR Odell Beckham Jr. is set to...


    Daily Cowboys News in Your Inbox
    Your email address:*
    Please enter all required fields Click to hide
    Correct invalid entries Click to hide

    Trending Now

    Will Jalen Tolbert suit up again this season?

    The third-round pick out of South Alabama has been...

    Reasons why the Cowboys have the best defense

    Out of all the 32 NFL teams, it's always...

    Fantasy Outlook: It’s Hard to Trust any Cowboys Player Next Season

    I am already looking forward to my fantasy football...

    Micah Parsons is fed up with NFL officiating

    Anyone who perused the tweets related to Sunday's game...

    The Star: Getting Inside the Dallas Cowboys New Home

    The Dallas Cowboys star logo is one of the...

    Cowboys Reveal New Uniforms for Week 17 vs Titans

    Another uniform emerges for the Dallas Cowboys to wear...

    Cowboys Nostalgia: Before Jerry Jones

    25 years ago Jerry Jones bought the Dallas Cowboys...

    Why are the Dallas Cowboys Considered “America’s Team?”

    The Dallas Cowboys are one National Football League team...

    How the NFC East went from Least to Beast

    The NFC East has been considered the worst division in football for years, yet if the playoffs started today, all FOUR teams would have...

    #DALvsNYG: 2nd-half adjustments gobble Giants up

    The Dallas Cowboys overcame a shaky first half and put the hammer down on the New York Giants on Thanksgiving. The Cowboys beat the Giants...

    Are the Cowboys the best team in the NFC?

    Every year when a new football season begins, Cowboys fans around the world are notorious for believing “this is our year.” To be quite...