LikeLike LoveLove

Dak Prescott Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Quarterback Dak Prescott is getting ready to face the Washington Football Team on Sunday. This should make him crack a smile seeing as he is 7-1 against Washington for his career. However, as he prepares to possibly give the Dallas Cowboys a three-game lead in the NFC East, Prescott has been nominated for a few awards this week.

It was announced on Tuesday that Prescott was the Cowboys nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award which recognizes a player for his outstanding community service activities off the field as well as excellence on the field. On Thursday, Prescott received another prestigious honor as he was selected as the Cowboys nominee for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award which is given to the player that most exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship.

Prescott is looking to become the third quarterback to win the award joining Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints (2018) and Teddy Bridgewater of the Carolina Panthers (2020). The winner will be announced at the NFL Honors ceremony during Super Bowl week and he will receive a $25,000 donation to the charity of his choice.

No matter if the Cowboys win or lose, Prescott can be seen after games shaking the hands of the opposing team while flashing his trademark smile. It’s a behavior he’s exhibited throughout his career, and even if he isn’t selected as the winner of the Rooney Award, Prescott certainly represents what the honor stands for and then some.

What do you think?


Written by Matthew Lenix

I write dope stuff about the Dallas Cowboys and what not.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cowboys' Dak Prescott Expects 2021 NFL Draft to be 'Defense Heavy'

Week 14 Preview: Dallas Cowboys at Washington Football Team

Amari Cooper Continues to be Vastly Underrated

Dallas Cowboys at Washington Football Team – DraftKings Showdown Slate