Cowboys News App [Android]

DeMarcus Ware, Chuck Howley elected to the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame

Two former greats will be enshrined into the on Saturday, Aug. 5, at Tom Benson Stadium in Canton.

and were announced as members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2023 during the on Thursday night.

Ware was a finalist last year — his first season of HOF eligibility — but he was not selected as a first-ballot Hall of Famer.

A first-round pick by the Cowboys in 2005, Ware is the all-time sack leader for Dallas with 117. He finished his career with seven All-Pro selections (four first-team), nine honors, two sack titles (2008, 2010), and won with the .

Ware is also a member of the NFL 2000s All-Decade team.

This will add to his long list of accomplishments in his football career. Ware is already a member of the Troy University Sports Hall of Fame and the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame. While there he earned All-Sun Belt and NCAA Division I-A All-Independent honors during his Troy career. In 2003, he won Sun Belt .

Before or , Ware was the staple of the Cowboys' for a long time. He was one of my favorite players as a kid growing up.

I still remember his strip sack against , ending the Saints' bid for a perfect season in 2009. One of the best games I have ever watched as a Cowboys fan.

Chuck Howley was also selected to enter the Hall.

Howley earned All-Pro honors in five consecutive seasons from 1966-70 and was also a six-time Pro Bowler. He was named of V despite Dallas' loss to the Baltimore Colts on a last-second field goal.

The only player to ever win an MVP and be on the losing team.

Howley was WAY before my time, but during that game, he intercepted two passes and forced a fumble; he sounds like a heck of a player.

fell short again this year. Woodson has been a semifinalist for the HOF on six occasions and, coming into this year, had never advanced beyond that.

Woodson retired following the 2003 season as the franchise's all-time leading tackler who was also a five-time Pro Bowler, a four-time first-team All-Pro, and a three-time Super Bowl champion.

All three players should have been inducted. Woodson will have his time, but for now, Howley and Ware will get to enjoy it. 

The Cowboys now have 32 Hall of Famers who were a part of their organization for at least a year, Zack Thomas, who played for the Dallas in 2008 before he retired, was also announced as a member to enter this year.

, , Joe Kelcko, and Ronde Barber were among the others that were announced last night.

, , and were inducted in 2021. Outside of Woodson, who may be the next Cowboys great to have his name sit in Canton forever?

Shane Taylor
Shane Taylor
Cowboys fan from the Midwest. Writing is fun, Staff writer for Inside The Star. Follow me on twitter @ShaneTaylor43

COntinue Reading


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

> Join our team...

-- COWBOYS ANDROID APP --Free Dallas Cowboys News App for Android