Dallas Cowboys Win 2018 NFC East Championship

With their victory today over the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the Dallas Cowboys have clinched the 2018 NFC East championship.

The division title is Dallas’ third in the last five seasons. The Cowboys have been NFC East Champions more than any other rival since Jason Garrett’s first full season as head coach.

A loss next week can’t hurt Dallas now. The Cowboys hold division record tiebreakers over New York and Washington. They have a head-to-head tiebreaker over Philadelphia.

With the fewest wins of the four division champions, Dallas will likely be the fourth seed in the upcoming playoffs. They will host the fifth seed, which currently belongs to the Seattle Seahawks. However, the Eagles and Minnesota Vikings could still move up.

The Cowboys could have clinched the division even with a loss today, had Philadelphia also lost to the Houston Texans. But thankfully, Dallas gets to enjoy this accomplishment off their own victory.

With likely nothing to play for next week, we’ll see how the Cowboys handle their regular season finale in New York. Many key players, such as Ezekiel Elliott and Zack Martin, could use some rest.

But for now, let’s just congratulate the Dallas Cowboys for being NFC East Champions once again!

What do you think?

Jess Haynie

Written by Jess Haynie

Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Wolf Hunter: Leighton Vander Esch's Pass Coverage Skills Rising to Occasion

Dallas Cowboys Leading Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17-13 at Halftime

Randy Gregory

DAL 27, TB 20: Cowboys Overcome Bad Calls, Win Division