LoveLove LikeLike

Micah Parsons Named 2021 AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

It almost feels like a formality at this point, but Micah Parsons is now officially recognized as the NFL’s top first-year defender in 2021. He took home the AP award tonight during the 2022 NFL Honors ceremony, receiving all 50 possible votes and making as the first unanimous winner.

Parsons has already snagged nearly every recognition possible for his stellar debut, and not just those reserved for rookies. He was a First Team All-Pro, a starter, and the Butkus Award winner for being the NFL’s best .


Micah is the first player to win the Associated Press’ Defensive of the Year since its inception in 1967. Dallas has had four offensive winners: (2016), (1990), (1977), and (1969).

The buzz for Parsons to win this award has been going strong since the middle of the season. In fact, he was even seen as a contender for . But the Steelers’ T.J. Watt took that one home.

Even if this is the last time we hear Micah Parsons’ name called tonight, it’s the final stamp on one of the greatest rookie seasons in franchise and even NFL history. But hopefully, it’s only the beginning of a legendary career.

What do you think?

Jess Haynie

Written by Jess Haynie

Cowboys fan since 1992, blogger since 2011. Bringing you the objectivity of an outside perspective with the passion of a die-hard fan. I love to talk to my readers, so please comment on any article and I'll be sure to respond!

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cowboys Take LB Nakobe Dean, OL Sean Rhyan in ESPN's Two-Round Mock Draft

Cowboys Take LB Nakobe Dean, OT Sean Rhyan in ESPN’s Two-Round Mock Draft

Dan Quinn

Dan Quinn Named NFL Assistant Coach of the Year