Cowboys News App [Android]

Retired C Travis Frederick Named 2020 George Halas Award Winner

, once the best in all of football, shockingly announced his retirement back in March. However, that hasn't stopped the big man from receiving some pretty amazing accolades. Earlier today, it was announced that Frederick was selected as the 2020 George Halas Award winner by the PFWA.

There was some stiff competition for Frederick when it came to this award. Other nominees included coach Bobby Engram, , , and Raiders tight end Darren Waller.

First presented to Joe Namath in 1969, the George Halas Award is given to the player, coach, or staff member that overcomes the most to succeed. Frederick missed the entire as he battled Guillain-Barre Syndrome. He returned last season and was named to his fifth in the six seasons he was on the field for the Cowboys which also included three All-Pro selections (2014-2016).

Frederick isn't the first Cowboy to receive this honor. Hall of Famer and Cowboys legend won the award in 1980, immediately following his final season, much like Frederick. Also, this isn't the first time Frederick has been recognized by the PFWA. He was selected to their All-Rookie team in 2013 and was a two-time PFWA All-NFL and All- selection (2014, 2016).

The Cowboys iron man started all 96 games he was available for and leaves behind a legacy that will definitely get him into the organization's and possibility in the .

Matthew Lenix
Matthew Lenix
I write dope stuff about the Dallas Cowboys and what not.

COntinue Reading


> Join our team...

-- COWBOYS ANDROID APP --Free Dallas Cowboys News App for Android